PDA

View Full Version : Metal Lathe/Mill

Bob Moorman
02-07-2005, 10:50 PM
I am totally new to using a metal lathe and am attempting to find a small new/used unit that I can use to turn Smoking pipes and mill the stems. Advice as to what to purchase for under $1500.00 cause thats all she will let me spend.

------------------
Bob

G.A. Ewen
02-08-2005, 12:15 AM
http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//eek.gif That would make one very expencive Pipe http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

What type of materials do you intend to use and what other types of projects are you interested in making?

precisionworks
02-08-2005, 12:18 AM
Two checking accounts really help. That gives you $1500 of "her money" and ??? of your "secret fund"!!

Jet makes a really nice 9 x 20 belt drive:

http://www.medfordtools.com/Jet%20Metal%20Working-1.html

Enco often has these on sale at $995. Spindle nose is threaded 1 1/2 x 8, same as small South Bend, so lots of accessories are readily available.

Lots of used lathes are listed on eBay, here's one in Katy, Texas:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=92086&item=3872677608&rd=1

Unless you know what to look for, be cautious when buying used, or take a knowledgeable friend with you.

Hope this helps.

------------------
Barry Milton

sauer38h
02-08-2005, 04:48 AM
You want a metal lathe for pipes? Are you making those aluminum types with cooling fins?

The 7" swing lathes in the $300-500 range (new) would seem to be adequate for any reasonable pipe. Harbor Freight, Grizzly, Northern Tool, Cummins Tool, etc sell those. Or the old 7" Atlas or Craftsman (used).

toolmakerjim
02-08-2005, 05:36 AM
bob;
where are you located?
i had an inquiry from a gentleman in New Zealand the other day about a lathe, sorry guys im not in the used machinery business, but i did some research and was surprised at the machines available for $750. or make offer.