PDA

View Full Version : NEED ADICE/OPINIONS: SHELDON LATHE

Tom CPM10V
02-09-2005, 08:19 PM
Hi,
I need the advice/guidance of you far-more-experienced guys & gals ...regarding the advisability of buying a Sheldon 15" lathe.

I'm a beginner with a Harrison 15" x 50" lathe, but for a variety of reasons would like to own & use a U.S.-made lathe. Not far away, a Vo-Tech school will soon be selling a Sheldon Model 3 turret lathe. I got a quick look at it yesterday, and it is hardly used at all -- ways are perfect/new, the headstock operates smoothly & quietly, and it has much tooling -- 3J collets, taper, etc. Has 2" spindle bore, really fine longitudinal feeds, lots o mass, broad speed range, A1-6 spindle, etc. As a newbie, I'm impressed with it.

It appears to swing about 15" x 40"; the data plate says it is a 'Model 3R' with SN '31669'; and the shop teacher says it was made in 1969. Although it is a turret lathe, in many cases the owners manual describes the component parts generically as 15" lathe parts.
To me, it looks like the turret assembly could be removed easily and replaced with a conventional tail stock. [Ebay currently has a Sheldon 15" tailstock up for auction.]

Advice/opinions, please. Are these good lathes? Any known weaknesses / problems / faults to be investigated before buying? Are parts available? How about tech data/literature/support? Would a conventional tailstock fit? Would you personally buy one?

I will genuinely appreciate your advice and guidance. At my age, my next lathe will be the last lathe I ever buy, so I want to do it right. [I've been exploring LeBlonds, but one of comparable size & condition would cost several thousand $$$ more.]

THANK YOU and BEST WISHES. Tom

JCHannum
02-09-2005, 08:45 PM