PDA

View Full Version : Lincoln 250-250 welder

hoffman
02-09-2005, 07:16 PM
I have a line on a big honkin Lincoln idealarc 250 ac/dc welder. I'd like to have a TIG but I was wondering if I could put a high freq. box on this thing. I'd like to weld aluminum. It's a model 250-250. I'll see if I can find a pic of one. Any ideas on what would be a fair price?
Just like this one
http://images.andale.com/f2/129/111/8188590/1107230907758_Lincoln_20Idealarc_20250_20welder.jp g
The price of admission for a store bought TIG is just too much for me to bear and I was wondering if this'd be a good box to use for Al welding. I know very little about doing this sort of thing...
------------------
Hoffman in Warner Robins Ga

[This message has been edited by hoffman (edited 02-09-2005).]

Joel
02-09-2005, 09:05 PM
I am far from an expert, but all you need is DC to stick weld aluminum.

Rustybolt
02-09-2005, 09:11 PM
Joel. he wants to TiG weld alum. For that you need HF AC.

Hoff. They usuall go for a couple of hundred on ebay for AC/DC and a lot less for AC only. Millers seem to command a premium.(I been shoppin' em too);-)

I don't know nuffin bout no HF boxes.
Let us know how you make out.

#66B
02-10-2005, 06:09 AM
That is a excellant stick welder, I sold 1 for $250.00,to a good freind, yes it will do a fine job on alum. Lincoln mahes a add on High Freq. box, that is what the guy that bought it is doing with it now. On the street I would have ask 450.00- 500.00 for the welder itself (good machine)

#66B
02-10-2005, 06:12 AM
That is a excellant stick welder, I sold 1 for $250.00,to a good freind, yes it will do a fine job on alum. Lincoln mahes a add on High Freq. box, that is what the guy that bought it is doing with it now. On the street I would have ask 450.00- 500.00 for the welder itself (good machine)

vinito
02-10-2005, 10:16 AM
Sounds like there's a consensus. Here's the rig I picked up a few years ago: