PDA

View Full Version : Broken drill bit

kenrinc
02-17-2005, 01:03 AM
So I'm drilling into some W1 drill rod tonight and bam! Broke my drill bit. Think my speed was too slow but not exactly sure since I'm still learning. Any options before ditching the work piece? Import HSS bit.

Ken-

Thrud
02-17-2005, 01:36 AM
Ken
You may have to anneal it - it may have overheated and hardened as you drilled it. You should be using a 135° split point drill when working with hardeneable material and it is very important that you feed at least .003" per rev if possible as this will get the cutting edge under the work hardened layer (critical with stainless steel like 304 that work harden badly)

Get a better drill set when you can afford them (stubby drills are the stiffest) - import drills can be marginal at best - something you learn the hard way (by buying them) - false economy to buy "cheap drills" that never hold their edge or snap like glass.

Make sure that you have the W-1 securely clamped - if you were holding it yourself - you drill probably broke because the work moved or twisted.

FOLLOW SAFETY PROCEDURES ALWAYS - clamping work before drilling it is not an option - it is a requirement! I have a toolmaker friend (that should have known better) that got lazy once - the drill press nearly removed his thumb when it slipped down into a t-stot and the piece caught on the drill bit and swung around, and WHACK! Blood all over hells half acre. He almost died from blood loss...

kenrinc
02-17-2005, 11:15 AM