PDA

View Full Version : Welding SS tank

charlie coghill
02-17-2005, 11:27 PM
Hi All;
I have a SS tank that I use to haul Desiel fuel in. It appears that when the tank was made the fabricator ground his weld too much and it has cracked and leaks. I would like to reweld it using TIG with Argon gas. If I fill the tank with water up to near the weld area and fill the space above the water with CO2, will the CO2 gas leaking through the crack affect the weld quality or maybe just tap into the Argon gas? Would it work just to put the gas in the tank and not have any pressure on the tank. I am only talking about 1/2 Lb. of pressure. I have a small bottle of CO2 that I have used for this type of repair on steel tanks but this is the first stainless tank that I have need to repair.
Thanks for any thoughts on this.
Charlie

JimA
02-17-2005, 11:55 PM
Charlie I have a few years experience in the natural gas and crude oil pipeline business. The only way to weld on any metal that contains a flammable is to have all the oxygen completely gone or have only oxygen (AIR not pure oxygen!!!!) in the tank. I am not trying to scare you but I hope I do scare the hell out of you. I had a good classmate of mine blow himself into pieces so that they couldn't find any parts of him. He was an excellent experienced welder welding on a diesel tank on a tractor. It was full of diesel fuel. Unfortunately this was a common practice. it saves time and money. The only way to really safely weld on a tank that has contained flammables is to drain and completely steam the inside out. Then blow it out with dry air. Then take an explosive meter and check the inside of the tank. If you don't have access to an explosive meter then steam it out for a long time until you're absolutely sure there are no vapors left. Even residual vapors that have been absorbed into the metal can cause an explosion. This is what the hot steam is used for.

ibewgypsie
02-18-2005, 12:05 AM