PDA

View Full Version : Intro and metal question

JimA
02-17-2005, 09:26 PM
Hello to everyone. I am new to this site as far as posting goes, but I've been monitoring it for about two or three years now. I've been a woodworker all my life, but about five or six years ago I decided to buy a lathe and try my hand at metalworking. I've gotten involved with it quite a bit as a hobby and enjoy it very much. I also own a Taig mini mill. Over the past few years I've also collected many of the items that go along with this hobby. I purchased a Grizzly surface planer many years ago which was made in Taiwan. I was very happy with the quality of it for the money, thus I bought a Grizzly 9 x 20 lathe five or so years ago and was very disappointed when I saw that made in China label on it, but for the money it was a good machine to learn on. I've since followed the advice of this for on and completely overhauled the machine replacing all of it with stainless hardware and such upgrades that were recommended on this form. I progressed to the point and have the machine to the point that I can now machine easily to within a thousands or more. I do have a background in metals and engineering. Enough about me. My first question. I have a part I want to make that the specs call to be made out of 4130 chrome Molly. It is then required to be heat treated to 125,000 psi and cadmium plated. Why could I not use stainless steel 17-4 instead. In its normal state it is more than 125,000 psi and would require no heat treatment or cadmium plated since its going to be in contact with aluminum. I guess the main question is how well does 17-4 stainless machine? Is it similar to 4130 or 4340 both of which I have machine with no problem. Thanks all.

egpace
02-17-2005, 09:49 PM
Jim,
As long as the material properties meet your requirements, it shouldn't make much of a difference. With all things equal, cost or availability is usually the determining factor of what material to use.