PDA

View Full Version : How can I limit total characters per line?



jlrsn
03-01-2005, 11:38 PM
Neil,
Is there any way that I can set my preferences for this BBS to limit the amount of characters I receive per line. Sometimes it feels as if I have to cross the street to read a post as I constantly have to scroll back and forth just to read a post no matter what resolution I set my monitor to.
Thanks,
Jim Larsen

------------------

Ryobiguy
03-01-2005, 11:42 PM
It seems like if there is a wide photo in a thread then it will keep it as wide as the photo, and make you scroll across to read the text. Otherwise it word-wraps to the width of your broswer.

jlrsn
03-02-2005, 12:24 AM
What you wrote makes sense. I just tried a bunch of postings without pictures and they all word wrapped perfectly. I must have been looking at a lot of postings lately that had pictures in them. The "DRO Quill or Knee" was the posting that had incredibly long lines. Thanks for your quick reply.
Jim

------------------

SJorgensen
03-02-2005, 12:58 AM
It's time to buy that 25" monitor you've had your eye on.

Evan
03-02-2005, 01:05 AM
Anything that doesn't have a natural line break in it, a picture or a long URL or anything without a end of line character such as "? . ; : - " will cause the width to expand, possibly larger than your screen resolution can accomodate. You can't do anything about it.

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz


[This message has been edited by Evan (edited 03-02-2005).]

jlrsn
03-02-2005, 01:41 AM
SJorgensen,
I've got 19" Screens on my Desktop and 15" on my Laptop which for me are perfect. Any wider and I'll have to sit further back and won't reach the keyboard.

Evan,
I got your point!!! Now how many Z's did you put in that line?

------------------

Evan
03-02-2005, 02:09 AM
*pity taken on other reading this post*

(line of zzzzz shortened to make this more readable)

Heck, you think I counted them?



[This message has been edited by Evan (edited 03-02-2005).]

Carl
03-02-2005, 02:25 PM
For those really big pictures, you should really use a thumbnail...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v35/lathefan/7aaa3ddf.jpg (http://www.justpickone.org/davidtg/PIX/T-G/sunset1.huge.jpg)



[This message has been edited by Carl (edited 03-02-2005).]

Paul Alciatore
03-02-2005, 04:27 PM
Thumbnails are too small, please.

Ideal size is about 500 wide x 375 high. It's the wide that counts but anything bigger than this will be reduced by Photobucket if you use that service. Their reduction is not predictable and it may wind up even smaller.

Anyone can reduce a picture that has a .jpg or a .bmp extension by using Microsoft Paint. Paint comes free with Windows and it will reduce pictures. You can find the present pixel count under Image | Attributes and change the size by a percentage under Image | Stretch & Skew. Be sure to use the same percentage for both horizontal and vertical to maintain proper appearance. Recheck the pixel count after reducing and try again as needed for your camera's size.

It is best to save a reduced picture under a new name if you want to retain the original, higher resolution version.

Paul A.

Evan
03-02-2005, 04:41 PM
If you are using XP just download the free image resizer Powertoy from Microsoft and install it. To use just right click on any image file and select small, medium or large. It will create a copy in the selected size. Easy.

Here (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx)

Arcane
03-02-2005, 06:46 PM
If you are using Firefox, you can also use "Image Zoom" which is a Firefox Extension.

Carl
03-02-2005, 08:48 PM
"Thumbnails are too small, please"

There not to small if you click on them Paul. That's the point of using them.