PDA

View Full Version : WTK:Machining spherical mold cavity

Seastar
03-17-2005, 12:17 PM
I need to machine a 1.68" diameter spherical cavity in the two halves of an aluminum mold to cast lead balls for a small cannon.
I have a small lathe (9X21) and a small bench mill.
How should I go about this.
I have very little experience with this sort of thing.

SGW
03-17-2005, 01:10 PM
Well, there's a couple of possibiities. One is to either make or buy a radius-turning attachment for your lathe. (If you look at what they cost to buy, the idea of making one will probably look attractive.) But if that doesn't seem feasible for one reason or another, here's another idea, if you have a rotary table for your your milling machine.

Compute a table of X-Z coordinates for the hemisphere you want to cut. That is, for position X on the diameter, how deep Z do you need to cut to touch the "bottom" of the cavity at that point. Start at one side and compute Z for each .05" increment of X, or whatever seems reasonable, until you get to the center. Then, put an end mill in the spindle, move to the outer edge of where the hemispherical cavity is going to be cut, and zero the Z axis when the end mill just touches the top of the blank. Move over the first delta-X, start the mill, plunge the caclulated Z, and rotate the rotary table to cut a circle of that depth. Then move over another delta-X, plunge to the calculated Z for that X position, rotate the blank, etc.

You'll end up with a more or less rippled surface, depending on how small you made the delta-X increments. And of course you need to take into account the diameter of the end mill you're using, when you set your initial position, etc. But you can get a pretty good hemispherical cavity this way, albeit slowly, and with suitable smoothing/polishing it ought to work.

And of course you'll need to locate some dowel pins to match the two halves of the mold, put in a sprue slot, etc.