PDA

View Full Version : What to Do (Look for new job?)

Derek13
03-17-2005, 09:52 PM
Hello! I'm currently a 2nd year toolmaker apprentice. (not tool and die maker... up in canada the have a new course for just toolmaker) I work in a shop that does primarily Aluminum Checking fixtures. But.. i'm debating wether to look for something else, or stay wehre i am. I really can't decide. There are a lot of good things about my current job, but i'm beginning to get bored and don't feel i'm learning all i can be.

The good points about the job are great... pay when i'm done apprenticeing is good (anywhere from 21 - 28$/hour), air conditioned shop, Own work bench with granite table, very clean, good atmosphere, most of the people are great to work with, overtime is availible and optional... they expect you to work overtime, and i like it as it gets extra money, and they don't expect like 60 hour minimum week (48 hours is waht wi generally work), it's usually lax ans low pressure environment, and supervisers don't jump on people for talking to others for a minute here or there. Noone steals tools etc.

BUT... i'm beginning to feel very very bored. It seems every job is squaring up some aluminum blocks (actually i don't get to even do that too often, usually my fixtures are blocked up for me already).. and i make some steel pins (4 ways, 2 ways, oblongs, go/nogo's) out of 01 steel, usually always between 3/8's dia, to 3/4's dia, with the odd bigger one over an inch thrown in there. And make small steel plates out of 1/8 flat ground stock. As well as putting bushing holes in etc. Anyone who's doen checking fixtures i guess will know what is involved fully. But basically it is 80% the same for every fixture and the odd time there's something new and interseting.