PDA

View Full Version : can an old AC motor be used as a generator?

andy_b
03-22-2005, 10:48 AM
i was just wondering. i know a DC generator is basically a DC motor, but can an old 3ph AC motor be used as a generator? the reason i ask is because i have access to falling water and a VERY cheap 15hp 3ph AC motor. i'm no generator expert, but it would be a cool project if it was possible.

andy b.

SGW
03-22-2005, 11:06 AM
Yes, this is possible, although the details of the wiring elude me. A few years ago a guy named William Fay, a registered engineer, was doing small-scale hydro projects and that is basically what he did. It's not trivial, the way it is with a permanent magnet DC motor. Something about energizing one set of the AC motor windings from the power line, then by turning the motor with (say) a water turbine, you generate power which can be fed back into the power grid to turn your meter backward.

Aside from the wiring issues, which probably are fairly straigtforward once you know how to do it, the big hassle in doing what Billy Fay did was doing the paperwork to be allowed to feed power into the power grid. It's do-able, if you know the routine, and that was part of the service he was selling--he knew how to do the paperwork.

Forrest Addy
03-22-2005, 11:57 AM
In theory yes. Practically, it can be tricky. An induction motor if overdriven will produce electical power in proportion to its slip in over-speed but to get credit from the power company you have to get them to pay you for the power you generate and install a special meter. If you had a synchronus motor you could get a better deal but the bureaucracy will still be a hassle.