PDA

View Full Version : Differences in Craftsman 101 and 109 lathes

KENZ
03-23-2005, 02:42 PM
I am new to this and have been looking on Ebay for a used lathe. I don't want anything really big and don't mind having to clean and fix minor problems.

My question is what are the differences in the 101 and 109 series lathes? Here are two that are on Ebay right now. I did a search on Google and on the forum and couldn't find anything.

I can see that there are differences in the lead screws. The 101 looks like it is built heavier. Is that the case or is it just the way the picture was taken? Are there any other major differences?

Craftsman 109 -http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=97230&item=7501923460&rd=1

Craftman 101 - http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=97230&item=7502070288&rd=1

Thanks in advance

Ken

JCHannum
03-23-2005, 02:56 PM
They are two very different machines. The 101 was made by Atlas, the 109, by AA.

Tha 101 is a good machine, and a real lathe. The 109 is not a bad machine, and I would probably prefer it to a Sherline, but it is a lightweight machine.

http://www.lathes.co.uk/index.html has information on both. Look under Craftsman for the 109, Atlas 618 for the 101.

KENZ
03-23-2005, 03:19 PM
Thanks for the link. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif That helps a lot.

G.A. Ewen
03-23-2005, 03:20 PM
I had a 109. I would not recommend them.

webbch
03-23-2005, 03:31 PM
If you had a choice and both were in reasonably good shape, the 101 would definitely win out in my opinion.

The one thing I think you'd REALLY love over the 109 is that the 101 has a crank handle for the carriage. With the 109, you have to have the halfnut on the leadscrew engaged anytime you want to traverse along the carriage. If the halfnut is ever disengaged, you can slide the apron up and down the bed with your hands.