PDA

View Full Version : Need 9x20 Lathe Recommedation

herbf
03-09-2005, 10:46 PM
I'm looking for a good 9x20 lathe to do some small projects and hobby type stuff at home.
I've been looking at the 9x20 models from places like Harbor Frieght and Northern Tools for under a $1000. I think these are all made out of China and I have no knowledge of their quality or accuracy.

If anyone has any recommendations or bad experiences, please share. I would also consider a good used American 9x20 or slightly larger as long as I can keep the price under $1000.

PSD KEN
03-09-2005, 10:57 PM
This is a start, will give you links to other sites too'
http://www.mini-lathe.com/Mini_lathe/Versions/Versions_9x20.htm

PSD KEN
03-09-2005, 10:57 PM
[This message has been edited by PSD KEN (edited 03-09-2005).]

sidneyt
03-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Herb:

There are whole newsgroups including the 9 x 20 group on Yahoo that does nothing but discuss this question. There are thousands of posts not only on that group but you can find opinions galore on rec.crafts.metalworking, the Chaski newsgroup and the Practical machininist on Chinese 9 x 20 lathes vs the rest of the world.

Jim Luck
03-09-2005, 11:10 PM
herbf - Before buying an import why not look into a good used lathe. I found a Clausing 10X36" wih a bunch of extras for $800, I love it. I pat it on the head.....stock every time I make $'s with it!. Learn how to inspect a used lathe or have someone help you before you jump into a good deal. Set-up is very important and most often overlooked by week-enders. I have mine leveled out to less than a thou. anywhere along the bed. Hope you find yours!.---

hammerhead74000
03-09-2005, 11:35 PM