PDA

View Full Version : Can I offer some constructive criticism for board members?

Your Old Dog
03-23-2005, 07:34 AM
Because I'm a baby boomer and they needed the room, I was the first kid in the California school system to graduate with out having passed an English class in 4 years. I never learned how to spell, never thought I'd need it. So believe me when I tell you this suggestion has nothing to do with grammer.

Some folks who make post forget to hit the "Enter" key every 5 or 7 sentences. This gives me a block of letters and words that literally fills my screen. I then have to drag a pencil across my screen so as not to loose my place while reading it.

I understand that paragraph breaks are made at the turn of a new thought. But they also got this "artistic liscense" clause in the English law books you can press into action if your work is hard to follow! I enjoy this board a lot. I like to read every new post and all the answers as I'm still learning all this. But some of the replys are awful hard to follow without paragraph breaks ("Enter" key being hit twice)

Now I expect some flammers here but most of you folks are witty enough that they should at least be funny http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif I can handle it (I think). If I've dangled any participles here in front of you I want you to know it wasn't meant to taunt you, just my ignorance bleeding onto the page!

On another note: I found out on another board that someone thought my screen name of Your Old Dog was rude. It isn't meant to be. It's homage to the most loyal friend I ever had, a big black Lab named Phreddy. He was a Lab's lab! Everything I ain't! He been running around in my head now for over 13 years.

Thanks guys, for everything...........
Ray....

[This message has been edited by Your Old Dog (edited 03-23-2005).]

torker
03-23-2005, 07:42 AM
Ray..to break up sentances we just use more of these http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

ricksplace
03-23-2005, 07:45 AM