View Full Version : O/T Paypal Accounts

Spin Doctor
03-31-2005, 05:54 AM
I have gotten a couple of emails about getting close to my paypal limit and they want me to certify (My account, not that I'm certifiable). What I was wondering was it is possible to simply open a new Paypal account or do they track emails, server addresses and such

Your Old Dog
03-31-2005, 06:18 AM
That's not necessary. Forget the email it's likely a scam. Just go to your browser and type in www.paypal.com (http://www.paypal.com) and when you get there login as usual and check it all out if you must. When I do it I get a locked padlock in the bottom right corner of my screen indicating I'm in a secure connection.

Just [b] do not [/b} use the "convieance" of the email "click here" button which could link you anywhere on earth to some scam guy.

I've been getting a wave of emails from every bank in the world. Looks like some scammers are fishing for takers.


03-31-2005, 08:32 AM
I get the same e-mails. Since I've never signed up with Paypal, I view these e-mails with Suspicion. You should too.

03-31-2005, 08:49 AM
My PayPal is linked to my checking account & I'm always close to the limit <LOL>.

Really don't know what "limit" they mean as the secondary source of funds is my credit card.

You may want to click on this link to the PayPal Security Center: http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_security-center-outside

Barry Milton

03-31-2005, 11:16 AM
neither paypal or ebay will ever send a request for info via email. no matter how real they may look, treat any such emails as fraudulant and always go direct through the actual web site.

03-31-2005, 11:26 AM
It is simply bad practice to click on *any* link sent to you in an email. The obvious exception is email from someone you know, from an address that's known to you.

No reputable vendor will send you a link or "request for verification".

I have also gotten these messages. On closer inspection, the *entire* message body is actually an image. If you click anywhere on it, you'll go to the scammer's site. At the very least, another spammer will have your name on the list for junk email, but if you provide info, it will certainly be abused.
Oh, and these scam sites are nearly always in countries/parts of the world where prosecution for this type of fraud is nearly impossible.

On the other hand, I've sometime wished I could provide the personal account info of George W Bush or someone like that. Let *him* (or the Secret Service, or CIA, whatever) get mad and pursue the scammer. I dream of a door being busted down in Prague or somewhere, revealing to a bunch of armed men a pimply-faced teen hacker wetting his pants.

3 Phase Lightbulb
03-31-2005, 11:52 AM
What ever you do, DO NOT CLICK on this link. I can't stress this enough. Only a complete idiot would click on this link.. Everyone that does NOT click on this link is extremely intelligent in my book. Anyone that DOES click on the link.... Well, you'll see..

Don't Click on this Link (http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/you.html)



Spin Doctor
03-31-2005, 04:37 PM
I didn't click on any links I simply looked at the message which was from the same email address as an invoice for a purchase. It seems to me when I did sign up with Paypal there was a spending limit that you could not exceed with certification

03-31-2005, 04:50 PM
How timely;

I just went through this recently.....If you get anything suspect from "paypal" (the scammers present a VERY official looking document) forward the email to spoof@paypal.com .....They will not only confirm validity,(or lack of) but they persue the bums for prosecution.....(so I'm told)


[This message has been edited by Daminer (edited 03-31-2005).]

03-31-2005, 11:08 PM
Some flowers for 3 Phase Lightbulb, DO NOT CLICK ON THEM unless you are 3 Phase Lightbulb.

http://www.tongaturismo.info/pictures/Flowers%20pink.jpg (http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/you.html)

3 Phase Lightbulb
03-31-2005, 11:20 PM
I'm not really into flowers, but thanks! What's it suppose to do when I click on it? I just get a 404 Page not found error..