PDA

View Full Version : Journeyman card

arnold
03-31-2005, 12:21 PM
I would like to share some information with the more experienced posters on this board. I am a Machinist with 20 years experience, never participated in an apprenticeship program or worked in a union shop. I was frustrated because I couldn't get a Journeman's card. Two years ago I found an organization that issues Journeyman certificates and cards based on a minimum of eight years experience. The name of the organization is National Skilled Trades Association and they cover several trades. You can email your name and address and they will mail you an application. Cost is $150. It didn't make me a better machinist, but at least it levelled the playing field when looking for a job that requires documentation. Hope this helps somebody.

arnold
03-31-2005, 12:24 PM
Forgot to give the email address for National Skilled Trades Association:
JourneymanNSTA@aol.com

Dave Opincarne
03-31-2005, 01:28 PM
Thank's! I'm in the same boat since the patternmaker's union died out in Seattle years ago. But not so long ago that most of the journeymen still working weren't part of it. So without papers it's hard to make journeyman's wages.

Dave

Dave Opincarne
03-31-2005, 01:30 PM
Do they have a web site? I can't find one on google.

snowman
03-31-2005, 03:53 PM
Or you could just paypal me the money. I'll make you up a card that's really nice looking. Federation of Skilled Trades workers of Jacobland.

-Jacob

Iquithadenuff
03-31-2005, 06:25 PM
I have been a Journeyman Tool & Die maker for over 30 yrs. My card was issued by US Dept. of Labor....NEVER once have I been asked to show it.Even tho I am proud of the fact that I completed my apprenticeship,as far as I am concerned it isn't worth the paper it is printed on, especially since it is written in English, and NOT Chinkenese

JRouche
03-31-2005, 06:30 PM