PDA

View Full Version : crunching, grinding and lousy threads

donnieductwork
04-17-2005, 08:35 AM
I can't cut a thread. I definetly have a 60* front , I ground back the sides too to about 10*. The top is ground down to the front at a guessed angle of about 30*. The front is ground back to about 5* and I tried this even greater. Have 29* combination set. When I attempt to thread it crunches and chunks. It sounds horrible and the threads are even worse. Jagged and like spikes all over. I am in dire need of help. I am a novice, and know nothing except I want to learn. I somehow feel it is my tool that is the problem.
Thanks for any input.
DON

Lew Hartswick
04-17-2005, 08:48 AM
Well two or three things occurr to me. :-)
With a name like "ductwork" maybe you should
be sticking to sheet metal. :-) (thats a joke
son ) :-)
Seriously what material are you trying to
thread? Secondly why not try a "ready made"
threading cutter. Even Harbor Freight, to get
an idea of geometery.
...lew...

happy02
04-17-2005, 08:58 AM
Is your compound set to 29&1/2deg.and are you feeding the threading tool in 2 or3 thou. with the compound each pass?

Buckshot
04-17-2005, 08:58 AM
........Sometimes what you're trying to thread will be the cause of the problem. I don't rush threading and I like about zero backrake and maybe a bit more siderake then most. I mainly use HSS and I grind and then stone a GOOD sharp edge on it. I'm not in production so I use 2 bits. Depending on the thread I may use the first for 3 passes and then swap to a razor sharp fresh bit for the final 2 and zero infeed final pass.

Rick

pete913
04-17-2005, 09:35 AM
The tool should be perfectly flat on top, no rake of any kind, and exactly on center. About 10 degrees of side clearance will work.

Ian B
04-17-2005, 10:11 AM
Don,

As Lew asked, what material are you trying to thread? I had very similar results trying to rethread old bolts - what should have been nice smooth flanks were covered in sharp, raggy scales.