PDA

View Full Version : Lathe for me...?

Kansas_Farmer
04-20-2005, 03:28 PM
I'm a total noob when it comes to this really. I need/want to learn about this trade, I've got a few projects (very simple ones really) that I'd like to turn out if possible. Point is, I'd like to get a lathe that is decent. To that end, I would like your thoughts on this one.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=97230&item=7508740772&rd=1

Thanks~

Brendon

hoffman
04-20-2005, 03:49 PM
This'll answer a lot of your questions and give you a lot of info on those machines.

http://www.mini-lathe.com/

Not rusty enough for me but some folks aren't as picky as me...

------------------
Deep Sea Tool Salvage

Kansas_Farmer
04-20-2005, 04:06 PM
Thanks!

Brendon

jackb
04-20-2005, 04:08 PM
Kansas,
Be aware that Micro-Mark sells a similar lathe with a longer bed for $570+shipping and it is brand new. That would include things like a warranty that the guy on ebay won't give you. I would be willing to bet that by time that auction ends, the price will be as high or higher than the new model. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//frown.gif I have been checking ebay for awhile looking for a lathe and have yet to see one that doesn't end up at almost the cost of a similar new one. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//frown.gif So, why bother? There are too many people who get "bidding fever" on that site. Just my two cents. Remember, "caveat emptor"

Jack

Kansas_Farmer
04-20-2005, 04:22 PM
Yup, I hear ya, I'm thinking the same thing. Also, I'm really nervous about spending a few thousand bucks on some precision machinery that I've not seen first hand. I'd like to go new really, but I'm in the 7"to 12"x class of lathe and the new ones are China, that scares me (some stories read here). American iron will be used or way out of my $$$ range.

So, since it seems that i'll be getting an offshore lathe as my first one, I want to get the best one I can.

Thanks~