PDA

View Full Version : Basic milling question

Jim Chinn
04-21-2005, 03:01 PM
I have just purchased one of the mill drill combos. (rong Fu clone). it will be used primarily for some simple slotting, and milling of aluminum, nothing thicker than 1/4" at this time.

I am really a novice at this so I ahve a couple questions regarding holders for end mills.

This machine has an R8 spindle. I see there are two kinds of holders for end mills. Collets and a holder that uses a set screw to hold the tool. The holder with the set screw seems pretty self-explanatory. Does the collete holder require any kind of an adapter to work with the machine? Does each kind of holder require different style of end mill or are mills interchangeble between the two?

I have read that 2 flute is the best for aluminum. is there a certain helix style or profile that is best for aluminum?

Finally, what is the optimum RPM to mill aluminum (6061) while using a manual feed?

Thanks for any and all responses in advance.

Jim Chinn

SGW
04-21-2005, 04:45 PM
Request a copy of the free (and mind-boggling) MSC catalog www.mscdirect.com (http://www.mscdirect.com) and you'll see hundreds of styles of end mills, some specifically engineered for aluminum. As a practical matter, for home shop use I doubt you'd notice much difference between those and general-pupose end mills...but then again, I've never tried the ones engineered for aluminum.