PDA

View Full Version : Can I make english wheel anvils on a 7X10?

meincer
05-01-2005, 09:11 AM
I am a complete newbie on home machining. I do metal sculpture and want to build an english wheel to form 20 ga. sheet steel. The lower anvils are typically 2 or 3 inches in dia. and have a curved face with varying radii. Here is a link that explains this and shows some of the anvils (fig. 23 is good):

http://www.artmetal.com/village/chat/main/transcrp/981008MN.htm

Commercial models use hardened anvils but I have read that as long as you avoid wheeling welds that mild steel anvils work fine.

I understand that these anvils would (I think) physically fit in a 7X10 lathe but could I use such a small lathe to actually turn one? Is there enough power to do this?

I have always wanted to learn home machining but I could never figure out why I needed a lathe. The 7X10 lathes can be had very inexpensively, less than $400, and I thought I could try this without breaking the bank (I know I will need several hundred dollars additional in tooling). This may be the perfect solution!

ibewgypsie
05-01-2005, 12:14 PM
Starting with 3" bar stock, drilling a patterne to hold with a jig, Then turning in lathe to a fixed template. Yes, but not very fast.

Instead of purchasing a small lathe you mentioned you might not ever use, think on a used larger machine, or hiring it out to someone local who needs the work. Making them out of 4140 by a local shop, the price was $50 each. Some of them on ebay are not made all that well, out of round. BUT, the bearings cost too. If you buy them with good bearings they cost more. If you need the profiles I have them in jpg somewhere.

Trailer bearings work. As do gocart bearings (*not as well) or if anybody else has a good source lemme know. They need to be able to carry a ton or so of load smoothly.

David (we all were newbies once) Can't is a four letter word.

ibewgypsie
05-01-2005, 12:16 PM