PDA

View Full Version : Rung Fu RF30 spindle backlash

Dick Payne
09-12-2002, 01:28 AM
I am a novice at home shop machining.I recently purchased a rf30 mill/drill that had very little use in a home shop. The spindle has about .030 backlash in the worm gear. Does anyone know of a back issue of HSM that shows how to correct this problem?

I started out with a Smithy 1220 3 in 1 machine but soon found out the mill isn't strong enough for what I wanted to do. I found a good deal on the mill/drill. Now I have to sell the 3 in 1 and am planning to buy a grizley 12x36 gear head lathe. I was warned about buying a 3 in 1 machine but am short of space. It is amazing how I found the space after using the 3 in 1 for a year.

------------------
Dick

barts
09-12-2002, 02:15 AM
Hi Dick -

I've had a RF30 for 12 years or so; I'm also
quite limited on space... the usual way these
machines are configured is with a strong
spring that lifts the quill. This allows one
to use the drill-press style handle or by
engaging the worm feed one can use the
handwheel. Since the load is always up the
backlash in the worm isn't an issue. If the
quill is sticky, this won't work well for you. You might try cleaning and lubing the
quill to see if that helps.

Good luck -

- Bart

------------------
Bart Smaalders
http://smaalders.net/barts

SGW
09-12-2002, 08:51 AM
You'll always have backlash, the best you can do. You need to learn techniques to allow for it, mainly, always take up the backlash in the same direction.

The problem comes with something like a quill downfeed, where the slop can cause the quill to drop down more than you intend and more than the dial reading indicates. I've found that one thing that helps is to engage the quill lock slightly, to provide some resistance while moving. When you're actually milling you ought to lock the quill anyway, of course.