PDA

View Full Version : Safety reminder - use proper lifting technique

Wayne02
06-10-2005, 11:51 AM
Which is what I didn't do last weekend while moving some wheel/tire assemblies. Been paying for it this entire week with significant pain the lower back. Getting out of bed is 25 minute ordeal.

I really feel like an idiot because I know better. In fact I was a plant manager for a number of years and my plant always had the best safety record. Lots of eduction and reminders on proper lifting technique went a long ways towards this record.

I was in a hurry, the load was not "that heavy" yada, yada. All excuses, non acceptable. It was a classic case of doing everything wrong. I bent at the waist, held the load away from body, lifted with my back, and then twisted to the side.

I didn't go to the doc thinking it would get better over time. My wife got tired of this attitude on Wednesday and threatened to make the appointment if I didn't. Went in, doc gave all kinds of pills to relax the muscles, help me sleep at night etc.

Now the back pain is better, but I'm so doped up I can't run any equipment, drive etc. I'm sleeping at night now, mostly because the medications just knock me out. I hate being on this stuff, but it has provided relief from the constant searing lower back pain.

The entire week has been a wash productivity wise. I have not been able to get anything done because of this... all because I lifted a load incorrectly.

Remember to lift properly.
Bend at the knees (deeply, like you are squatting down)
Try to keep your arms straight when you cradle the load.
Keep the load close to your torso.
Most importantly, keep your back straight and lift with your legs.
If you need to change directions will holding the load do not twist at the waist. Instead use your feet to change direction.