PDA

View Full Version : changing spindle bearings (help!!)

shapeaholic
06-12-2005, 10:49 AM
I have been looking into changing the bearings in the quill of my Wells Index model 745 mill. (they need to be changed!)

I can send it to Wells Index and they will do the job for $350.00 USD, which is I believe a good value.

Except... I live in Canada.
Just about any way you slice, dice or scheme that job is going to cost me $700.00 cdn. Exchange, tax, shipping and brokerage usually converts any $$USD price into double. (sucks don't it?)

I can buy a set of the correct bearings locally for about $400.00 cdn, and being a competent mechanic I don't think that it "should" too difficult a job to do.

Has anyone done this? Are there any big "watch outs?"

Any and all advise considered and appreciated.

Thanks

Pete

Ed Miles
06-12-2005, 11:35 AM
Pete, you do not have to send it to the US for repair. Let's try an Email approach. Do you have a drawing for this spindle. And the correct bearing numbers that are in the spindle. If you can FAX a copy of a drawing I may be able to help out. I am just south of you in Stratford and we rebuild any and all types of milling,turning and grinder spindles. Do you know if there is any housing bore wear or shaft seat wear.

------------------
Ceramics mean speed

vinito
06-12-2005, 11:43 AM
Damn Pete. I don't know for sure, but the worst of it is that may be a one-way situation. Would someone from here experience similar gouging if we sent something to Canada to be serviced?

For a few hundred bucks it would be worth taking a vacation across the border and get the spindle re-done while you're at it. They could even inspect the spindle as you cross both ways and customs would notice no difference (I don't see the border patrol noticing the smoother spindle on the return trip).