PDA

View Full Version : Craftsmanship re-visited

spope14
09-22-2002, 12:08 PM
Hey, the thread of Craftsmanship is a good idea, just digressed, and i admit I helped this a bit.

However, I have been doing this stuff since I was 13 years of age, or 29 years now, and teaching it for 15 1/4 years of this. I am always learning about "craftsmanship" each and every day, and passing it on to the students.

Examples are things like putting chalk in a file to prevent 'pining". Draw filing bevels. Filing the tops of knurls lightly. How to file off a burr on a cylinder using the "rocking chair" method. Hand tool and file use is a true art.

Others: Breaking every edge .003 asap with a 45 deg chamfer tool while it is still chucked so not to lose concentric. Breaking edges on a mill with a 90 deg countersink .003 when possible.

Milling with a carbide face mill with one tooth, Finish Climb cuts, speeds and feeds.

Radiuses on end mills on the teeth, all the same between each tooth, and how to do this. Honing a hand ground lathe tool before and after use.

Simple but easy things to forget like dressing wheels rather than being lazy, spark out on surface grinders.

Measure twice, figure twice, cut once.

ready to hear more, and add more as my memory gets jogged.

My favorite times in machining is when the old guys stop by the teaching shop while the kids are there. i invite this, and they come - kind of like field of dreams. I talk to them, and "set them up" in many a way to show off something. Man this adds creedance to what I do, and what a resource this builds as the word grets out that I invite this, and the kids really respond to it.... builds character in the kids, myself, and the program.

Takes time, but the end result is the best, and shows off your work.

Chime in gang!!!!!!!

Thrud
09-22-2002, 12:53 PM
Scott