PDA

View Full Version : Forming ABS plastic

JPR
07-18-2005, 04:33 PM
This is my first attempt at oven forming ABS plastic. I have a wooden form and a piece ABS plastic that I laid on top of the form. The spec sheet shows a temperature of 234 degrees. I have the oven set at 250F. Is there a problem with going higher? Only part of the shape is forming. Or do I need to have a two part mold with a top and a bottom?

[This message has been edited by JPR (edited 07-18-2005).]

DR
07-18-2005, 06:12 PM
ABS should form well.

What you're doing would be called slump forming I believe. This method won't give fine details.

No, you don't need a two part mold.

To get the part to pull down tightly over a form industrial applications use a vacuum. Sometimes in addition to the vacuum operating through holes in the form they use air pressure on the top side.

JPR
07-18-2005, 07:00 PM
It is gauge panel; however, each gauge sits on a hump so they are turned to face the operator.

Similar to this unit (http://photos.thedieselstop.com/showphoto.php?photo=25949&papass=&sort=1&thecat=998), except the one I am making will have four gauges and sits on the dash.

matador
07-18-2005, 07:37 PM
jpr,that is quite a deep moulding you're trying to "pull".be aware that you need at least 1" or more BELOW the lowest point of your mould.This is so that unformed corners can drape down,and you cut these of after forming.It may also help to have a "ring" around the part.e.g. you make a flat pieceof ply or whatever with a hole the shape of your mold,plus the thickness off your sheet,plus about1/16 extra.when your abs begins to slump,take out of the oven and quickly push the "ring" over the sheet/mould.you may have to reheat-push several times to get to the required depth.Don't rush it.good luck.

------------------
Hans

darryl
07-18-2005, 09:48 PM