PDA

View Full Version : Machinist's urn ?

nheng
08-05-2005, 09:20 PM
My wife and her sisters are working on estate planning for my father in law which includes funeral arrangements in advance due to some specific donations of medical samples which are time critical.

Out of respect for his life as a machinist, I suggested a cremation urn machined (welded up and finish machined) from an appropriate stainless steel. It was met with an enthusiastic response.

Have any of you ever heard of or created such a thing for others? Den

Forrest Addy
08-06-2005, 12:02 AM
That's what my Dad is buried in. Be sure it has sufficient internal volume.

egpace
08-06-2005, 12:24 AM
That would be a great tribute and a wonderful gesture! It's well worth the effort, I hope you find the info you need. Anybody out there with ideas?
Ed

chief
08-06-2005, 12:36 AM
Perhaps some custom engraving or relief on it?

Frank Ford
08-06-2005, 12:43 AM
Appropriate, indeed!

My wife has been a full time professional potter for the last three and half decades and about once a year she's asked to make urns for loved ones' ashes. Her most recent one is on its way to Japan with her friend's father-in-law's remains. While she "never" does custom work, these urns are a distinct exception, with the family calling the shots.

Personally, I hope to be regarded well enough that when my time comes, folks will ponder that same question. . .

Toolmaker Extrodinair
08-06-2005, 06:08 AM
when I started my shop, was approached to make one out of solid bronze. price was too high so never went through with it.

IOWOLF
08-06-2005, 06:17 AM
My mother in laws urn was normal, but the vault was bright T/P aluminumand I made it myself lined with blue crushed velvet.It went over well with the family since a cheap vault cost $500.00.

Ries
08-06-2005, 11:22 AM
I know a girl who makes custom metal urns for deceased pets-
http://www.custompeturns.com/
If he was funny looking enough maybe she would do one for you. (just kidding)