PDA

View Full Version : Making a sprocket

JDF
09-28-2002, 09:48 PM
What all is involved in making a sprocket on a bridgeport? What I'm making will be a 50 tooth sprocket for a 520 chain. The side surfaces of the sprocket will serve as a brake rotor. So far I haven't found anyone who either stocks, or is willing to make exactly what I need. Also, any suggestions for material would be great. Most sprocket/rotors I have seen are stainless, which I've had little experience working with.

Also, with the current setup I'm working on, the counter sproket on the motor will only have about 4.4 teeth in contact. I'm worried that the teeth will shear off. Any thoughts on that? Neither changing sprocket diameters or increasing the distance are good options. I was considering adding an idler sprocket on the slack side of the chain to increase the wraparound on the counter sprocket.

This is all going into a small, forumla style car powered by a 600cc bike motor. Should be making somewhere around 70 to 80 horsepower at the wheels.

SGW
09-28-2002, 10:51 PM
Machinery's Handbook has the specs for what the teeth form should be. You can buy (but I've never seen them listed) form cutters for sprocket teeth, just as you can buy form cutters for involute gear teeth. (I know they exist because I have one I picked up in a lot of $5/pound cutters once.)

You'll need an indexing head. Or you could do it with a vertical rotary table, assuming you can mount the blank in a way so you can get at it to cut it.

I'd use something like 4140, I think, but I really don't know.....

Randy
09-29-2002, 09:10 AM
Years ago I used to buy motorcycle sprocket blanks (just the teeth and a 1" center hole) of 7075 aluminum to remachine into chainrings for racing bicycles. Here's a link to their website. Maybe they can help you out.
http://www.peszbros.com/index.html

Rob Frink
09-29-2002, 02:05 PM
Wow! cool project that raises some design considerations.