PDA

View Full Version : VFD

Gary Helmick
08-19-2005, 10:28 AM
I will be getting a new milling machine this weekend (well new to me). It is a Bridgeport with three phase motor.

I also want to get a used (new to me)lathe that will probably have a three phase motor. My question is can I use just one VFD to run both of them?

Not at the same time. I was thinking about maybe using a receptacle for the VFD and a plug for each the lathe and mill.

The VFD is a Sumitomo AF-3000 2hp.

This VFD thing is something I have never worked with before so any help would be great.

Thanks,
Gary Helmick

SGW
08-19-2005, 10:36 AM
As long as power to the VFD is off when you do the swap, I don't see any problem.

[This message has been edited by SGW (edited 08-19-2005).]

sch
08-19-2005, 11:54 AM
It is not as straight forward as it seems because the VFD MUST be connected directly to the motor it controls. Unfortunately each of your machines will have on/off/reverse switches (mill/lathe) or contactors (lathe)