PDA

View Full Version : got the slitting saw, now how to hold the shaft

andy_b
08-18-2005, 08:47 PM
i acquired a slitting saw (thanks, you know who you are) and made up a mandrel to hold it in the mill. the brass rod won't be here for a few more days (UPS workers are a bunch of dumb arses - like you wouldn't notice a 4' long piece of brass rolling around on the floor).

so how do i hold this rod to make the cut in it? yes, i am going to go for the slot in the rod instead of just milling the section out. if it doesn't work i have plenty of extra rod and an endmill to cut it. if someone could post a pic of how to set this up, as i am a newbie to this type of procedure. i do not have a set of vee-blocks at present, but i DO have a shaper and some time.

thanks for any opinions.

andy b.

snowman
08-18-2005, 08:58 PM
how long is the slit?

andy_b
08-18-2005, 10:03 PM
it is a 1/4"x3" shaft that needs a slit about 1.2" long or so near the middle. i have a slitting saw about 1.5" diameter to make the cut (run half way through and flip shaft 180 degrees and cut halfway through from the other side).

i'm thinking of finding some scrap metal and cutting a shallow vee in it with the shaper and going from there. i think tomorrow morning i will head to the junkyard and see what i can see.

andy b.

wierdscience
08-18-2005, 11:21 PM
Horizonal or vertical mill and are you using a vise?

If it's a vert.mill and you have a vise,all you do is put a section of the rod flat down in the bottom of the jaws with enough sticking out past the side to make your part.

Next chuck up your arbor and saw and bring the saw down until it just touches the top of the rod with the side of the saw.Lock the quill and crank the table over until the saw is clear of the rod.