PDA

View Full Version : Anybody ever build there tools using Gingery's books?

Jeeper
10-01-2002, 01:32 AM
Hello All,
I am a Machining student at belmont tech college in St. Clairsville Ohio. And, a couple of years ago my mom bought me David Gingerys books "Build Your Own Metal Working Shop from Scrap" Series. And, now I would like to build them. Since I am a machining student. Has anyone ever done this? Where could I get supplies for the characol foundry? Also, when I am done, where can I find some plans for steam engines? I am into those and hit and miss engines. Also, would these engines be possible with this equipment? Please help me.
Thanks,
Jeeper

------------------
Duct Tape, the most widely used tool!!:)

Herb W
10-01-2002, 01:51 AM
Jeeper
There's a yahoo group for Gingery builders http://groups.yahoo.com/group/gingery_machines/
Good Luck!

Herb

Jeeper
10-01-2002, 02:37 AM
Thanks alot Herb for the info.
Chris

------------------

Gizmo
10-01-2002, 05:59 PM
Live Steam, also published by the sponsor of this board is a good start for IC stuff. Check the ads for leads. I bet if you ask Neil nice he'll send you a free copy.

[This message has been edited by Gizmo (edited 10-01-2002).]

David Hafnorske
10-01-2002, 09:04 PM
I have read about his books in a catalog I get, but am not so impressed. Take his bandsaw for instance if you have a junyard full of scrap metal and odds and end parts it might be worthwhile. But if you plan to buy iron for the project, as well as a motor and cord and springs, sheet metal, coolant pump, and whatever else it requires, you will find that you have over half the cost of buying a cheap new one. And unless you have other good equipment to make it with you can't be sure of the accuracy.