PDA

View Full Version : problem with 3roll bender

Tony
09-03-2005, 04:21 AM
picked up a used (vertical) 3roll bender.. the type that bend sections into long curves.

powered by a 3ph/2hp motor through a huge gearbox. some of the gears inside were damaged, but it had some (seemingly) good dies for the price. 4sets of 3 dies for pipe ranging from 1/2" to about 1 1/2" and a 'flat set' for bending strap, channel, box, etc.

got the thing rebuilt this past week, some fresh paint and new wiring and it seems to be running great on flat/square sections. rolled a 1.5" box section into a clean 4' circle.

only i can't figure out whats up with the pipe dies. the pipes slip and don't get pulled through.

maybe i'm not using it right.

the dies are hardened and don't appear too worn (then again, i've never used one of these before). the flat set is knurled
and works great. leaves some marks, but nothing serious. theres no way the pipe dies used to be knurled too, right? that'd be nuts.

anyway, right now its basically useless for pipe (probably why i got the deal). and am trying to figure out how to fix it.

anyone out there with experience using these things? is there a trick? what're the magic words?
-tony

pete913
09-03-2005, 05:40 AM
I don't think you'll have any luck trying to bend pipe with a roll. Those dies are for round solid stock.

Tony
09-03-2005, 08:18 AM
hey pete
i've seem people using similar machines to form long curved handrails out of 2" stainless.

whats would be the diff between a solid round and a pipe? (other than buckling if one goes too tight)

-tony

ibewgypsie
09-03-2005, 10:58 AM
Post a picture. I got tool envy.

I worked on a 3 roll bender using hydraulic motors, it never worked. Something about my design.