PDA

View Full Version : Hunting down electrical components.



ibewgypsie
09-04-2005, 03:15 PM
I'm working on a cheap DRO, going to use a Encoder cable operated mounted away from the mess. Need to find a chip supplier, a htcl-2000,2016,2020 to evaluate the cost.

Yeah, lots of "it's great" works on my robot pages but no suppliers or costs.

It reads encoder clock pulses to a internal up/dn count register, then can dump the total out a multi-line bus. Thing to do? create a rack w.addressable multiplexed registers to slide this lil neat card into. I got some drawings. Kinda like a homemade plc.

End result, a Dro Cheap.

How come all the things I wanna do require me standing on my head? is it "Murphies law?"

Alistair Hosie
09-04-2005, 04:01 PM
How could you stand on your own head?? you would need a very flexible back and extraordinarily long legs http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gifAlistair

JPR
09-04-2005, 04:29 PM
David,

Have you considered two current options, the first being the ShumaTech (http://www.shumatech.com/products/dro-350/index.htm) display and the second choice being a dos program (http://lindsayengraving.com/other_interests/dro.html) run on an old pc? This page (http://bellsouthpwp.net/A/r/Arts_home_page/DRO/) has a newer 5.4 version of the program. Either choice can use regular scales or a cable operated rotary encoder.

ibewgypsie
09-04-2005, 04:31 PM
yes, not to hurt anyone's feelings but I feel the Shumatech 350 dro to be overpriced for what it is, it is a 3 channel serial device with readout.

You could do the same thing with a stamp, reading the ttl serial from the scales. To convert a quadrature encoder to the chinese serial language it takes a adapter.

I got a half dozen stamps around here, serial displays, more toys than any kid should be allowed to have.

[This message has been edited by ibewgypsie (edited 09-04-2005).]

topct
09-04-2005, 05:00 PM
Something like that dos program only with a display like this one...
http://www.compucutters.com/compuguide/compuguide.htm
I wonder if a guy might design a curcuit and software and put it on a cd and sell it? I would buy something like that. Has anyone seen or heard of such?


------------------
Gene

ibewgypsie
09-04-2005, 06:15 PM
The gadget I am building is the front end for a cnc. DO it in steps once trust is aqquired. Hence the slots for more gadgets to be put into the network.

Years ago I built a small device with 12 controls lines and 8 input lines, it addressed the flip-flop and shift register chips available at that time. You throwed out a binary code reflecting the address of the card and read or wrote information to it. A 8255 was the main chip on the interface card. It was a isa slot rascal thou and not anything that will (would if I could find it) work with pci bus in new machines.
I thought a card with encoder input, variable pulse train output and H-bridge controls and possibly a fast cpu in charge.

Yeah first you get them addicted to crack, then you control the source/supply. Then all the crackheads work for you. (he he) rubbing hands together briskly.. Oiii ve well.

Parallel computer control is a thing of the past. New computers don't even come with a parallel port. USB is the new toy, it takes a cpu to make packet transactions. Who has a USB DRO/CNC/PLC control? Not even me yet.

Most the people who will not buy a cnc want a table feed. You know one with a speed knob and A DRO. Little do they know they already have invested in 1/2 of the process.
David

Flash319
09-04-2005, 08:47 PM
Check out usdigital.com. They have some neat chips for encoders and stuff. I bought a few for a project I was going to do but have yet to do it.

BillH
09-04-2005, 09:08 PM
Hmm, if Digikey or Mouser doesnt have it, I usually give up on that part.

hammerhead74000
09-04-2005, 09:15 PM
>> New computers don't even come with a parallel port.

I've yet to see a desktop that lacked one... all Mini-ITX boards that I've seen include one also. (not saying they don't exist - just that I've yet to come across one)

Heck - you can still get a motherboard with ISA slots:
http://www.baber.com/baber/411/soyo_sy-p4i-845pe-isa.htm
http://www.ipc-now.com/products/aimb742e2.html

But, for USB stuff, check out the G-REX (used to be called the G2002)
http://finance.groups.yahoo.com/group/geckodrive/files/G101/

Or, you could just use a FTDI chip:
http://www.ftdichip.com/
http://www.dlpdesign.com/usb/

And as mentioned above, US Digital has LSI quadrature decoder chips.

Also, a PIC can handle a quadrature signal without additional hardware (you use the "interrupt on port B change" feature to capture the state transitions).

CCWKen
09-04-2005, 09:19 PM
Look for HCTL's instead of HTCL's. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//wink.gif

http://www.alliedelec.com/search/searchresults.asp?SearchQuery=Hctl-2016

Bond
09-04-2005, 09:39 PM
Have you checked with Radio Shack Commercial.They have a commercial catalog that list items not found in the stores.

Paul Alciatore
09-05-2005, 01:30 PM
Newark ( www.newark.com (http://www.newark.com) ) lists the HCTL 2016 and 2020. They are both described as "microprocessor support..." and are made by Agilent Technologies ( www.semiconductor.agilent.com (http://www.semiconductor.agilent.com) ). About $22 and $25 each. If they stock those two I am sure they can get the other one. Prices on lagrer quantities will be less.

I know that's not your exact number. Have you transposed two letters?

For one-zies, I have gotten engineering samples from Agilent in the past. A well written request stands a good chance of working. Explain the product you are developing and how many you hope to sell. The ultimate quantity does not have to be tens of thousands.

Even big electronic supply houses often can not stock a manufacturer's full line. Inquiries to them often get results that are lot listed in their catalogs or web sites. Of course, delivery times are longer.

Paul A.

ibewgypsie
09-05-2005, 04:39 PM
I get dyslexia at times. yeah..

SOrry..

I have been working on the dro-parallel port all morning. It loses counts when bill takes the OS out for a dance. SO, a dedicated chip is neccessary. I thought so, but I had to prove it to myself.

David