PDA

View Full Version : any BMW mechanics/gurus?

Tony
09-10-2005, 12:57 PM
buddy of mine is looking to do a brake mod on his E39 (530T) -- upgrading from his 300mm disc to the E60's 320mm disc and caliper.

i have his components on the bench, old and new, and thought i'd do some research before getting to work.

has anyone done this? thoughts/precautions?
(his car is worth more than my shop)

at first glance its looking easier to modify the brake caliper than it is to change the mounting. theres not so much difference that I can make an adapter-flange.. so one of the two pieces will need to be cut.

the actual discs, apart from the 20mm difference, appear identical.

-tony

topct
09-10-2005, 01:16 PM
Will this effect the antilock brakes? You are changing the bias. What might BMW say?

------------------
Gene

Tony
09-10-2005, 01:48 PM
"damn it, Jim, I'm a doctor not a mechanic!"

sorry couldnt help it.
have no idea what bias even means.

they do sell kits for these cars that take the brakes up to 355mm, and if installed by a certified BMW center then everything is... ok?

i'm not sure.

basically it comes down to this:
he has a facny car, bigger brakes, and alot of money

i have a beater car, a machine shop, and no money.

i brought "warranty-voiding" to his attention and he didnt much care. as long as i can mount these things without them falling off (ie cover my backside), i'd like give it a try.

The Doctor
09-10-2005, 01:48 PM
I haven't worked in a BMW dealer since 88, so I am not familiar with that particular model. But I would like to make a few points for you to think about anyway.

1-unless something has changed since my days as a dealer mechanic, BMWs come from the factory with excellent brakes. Why would anybody bother to modify them ?