PDA

View Full Version : sharpen your own or buy indexable

ug
10-05-2005, 05:49 PM
Since I'm just getting into a lathe and am learning as much as I can, I was wondering if most folks here sharpen and shape their own HSS lathe tools or if you buy the indexable stuff?

I ask because I prefer to do as much as I can myself yet at the same time I prefer to enjoy making parts and wonder if I'd be better off just buying preshaped indexable stuff.

FWIW, this stuff will be used in my Fimms q/c post.

Nutter
10-05-2005, 06:14 PM
Absolutley learn to sharpen your own HSS blanks. The cost savings is well worth it. The ability to custom make any tool you need is indispensable some times.

I have some carbide insertable tool holders, but I reserve the carbide inserts for things like blanking out an axle shaft to be shortened. I cut those while still hard. If I had them annealed, I'd use HSS on them. Anything soft enough for HSS sees the HSS.

I'm working with older equipment in a home shop. I'd guess that you are in the same situation.

If you were a pro where time=money, you probably wouldn't need to ask. The answer for that situation seems to be carbide for most jobs just to speed thinsg up.

3 Phase Lightbulb
10-05-2005, 06:18 PM
In my machine shop class, you had to grind your own HSS lathe tool bit. I used the same HSS bit that I made at the beginning of the class all through out the entire class. That's the only one I've ever made. At home, I just buy the Carbide inserts, or tons of the Carbide brazed on bits from ENCO. If I ever need a special bit, I'll grind it (If I still remember how), otherwise it's cheaper to just buy them pre-made.

-Adrian

ERBenoit
10-05-2005, 06:27 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nutter:
[B]Absolutley learn to sharpen your own HSS blanks. The ability to custom make any tool you need is indispensable some times.

True. A special shape or form for which there is no insert, you'll have the knowledge of how to sharpen your own lathe tools.