PDA

View Full Version : 9 SB Spindle



alcova
10-11-2005, 09:40 PM
Has anyone ever bored out( or Reamed with a carbide reamer) a 9" spindle to 3/4 inch?
does anyone think it's possible?

Walt

torker
10-12-2005, 01:34 AM
The SB9's that I've owned all had a spindle bore just slightly larger than .750.
What have you got there?

hms50
10-12-2005, 09:09 AM
No, I've never bored out a South Bend 9" spindle but once I drilled through the far end of one to put a pin in for a collet attachment. The steel work hardened very quickly and it took a solid carbide end mill to finish the job. My guess,(and that's all it is) is that a reamer would have a tough time opening up the bore.
hms50

alcova
10-12-2005, 09:50 PM
My bore is just under 3/4" and I have a second spindle and it is the same way.
I know the buggers are hard and thats why I was thinking that maybe a carbide tipped reamer would work.

Walt

Evan
10-13-2005, 03:26 AM
That is very strange. There is no record of South Bend making a spindle for the 9" with a bore under 3/4". Trying to open the bore could end up being a very expensive exercise. SB advertises the spindle as being hardened alloy steel with a hardness of RC51 to 56. Is it possible the spindles are from a SB clone?

alcova
10-13-2005, 08:40 AM
Can't say for sure about the second one, but pretty sure the first one was all orginal.

Walt

agrip
10-13-2005, 10:39 AM
My spindle had a serious drag with 3/4 stock.
Putting a feeler wire thru said it was kinda rough.

I don't know if this was gall left from the previous owner forcing something thru, or just crud, or war production hurry up failure to keep tooling in good shape.

Any way to solve the problem, I put a spring hone (brake cylinder stuff) through there and made smooth reception for my tubing.

If you have more time than money something similar is a saw cut in a dowel and a few turns of SiC grit cloth/ paper.

HTH Ag

alcova
10-13-2005, 08:08 PM
Thanks for that idea, it is close and that may be enough to let me get that shaft through it.

Walt

SGW
10-14-2005, 07:54 AM
It may just be crud buildup of the ages. If you can find a wire brush of the correct diameter to haul back and forth in the bore,that might do it. Try a plumbing supply place; they sell wire brushes for cleaning 3/4" pipe fittings that might be adaptable.

alcova
10-14-2005, 05:59 PM
Thanks for all the suggestions...turns out the my shafting that I was trying had been hammered on and swelled the end just enough that it wouldn't fit.

Walt

Evan
10-14-2005, 06:16 PM
Heh. You need more lumens. I have over 30,000 lumens in my downstairs shop area which is only about 12 x 10'.

alcova
10-14-2005, 06:32 PM
Got some coming, if they ever get here. Bought some 3 weeks ago, asked where they were after 2 weeks and finally yesterday ( a week later ),I got a message saying they were finally sent...FAST is not what these people are about it seems.

Walt