PDA

View Full Version : Looking For Advice

want2lern
10-26-2002, 09:58 PM
I am completely new to metal working and have need to make a couple of very simple motorcycle parts (of the non engine variety). Rather than get into all the whys and where fors suffice it to say that the need is there... The material I will be working with is 1/8" Stainless Steel. That said my questions are as follows:

1) How do I best cut a 1/8 sheet of stainless steel into the part shape that I need? Have been searching through tool catalogues but can't get a good description of what tool to use for this material. Will a metal cutting band saw work?

2) What would be the best way to polish the finished part (high gloss finish)?

3) What would be the best sealer to use on the polished product to maintain the high golls finish?

4) If I decided to make more than one of these parts (say 12 per year for sale on a very small scale) would the tool recommendations above be the same?

I should mention that I am very adept with wood working tools... while I expect a learning curve with metal I do have some tool oriented skills as a basis.

Thanks in advance for you help,

Chris

P.S. - I just found your discussion forum and am enjoying the reading.

Rustybolt
10-26-2002, 11:00 PM
Need a lot more information. In order to help you we must have some idea what you want to do with the SS. Depending on the purpose you could; Shear it. Torch cut it, saw it(vertical or band), turn it,mill it, drill it, shape it, bend it, mold it. Any of or all of the above.

want2lern
10-26-2002, 11:08 PM
Ok...

The part in question will be flat. I am cutting it out of a piece of 1/8" x 18" x 12" SS. The shape is mostly rectangular but with a triangular shaped tab on one of the long sides. The final part will be about 7" x 5" (5" including the tab). There will be 6 countersunk holes needed as well.

Please Advise,

Chris

Rustybolt
10-27-2002, 12:43 AM