PDA

View Full Version : Graphite electrode



Luke55
10-16-2005, 08:14 AM
Hi everyone
I try the idea of M. Iseminger for removing rust with electrolytic. It work fine.
He mentioned about graphite electrode. For a 55 gal drum, he not give the size for the electrode. And where to find solid graphite block for cheap money evidemment.
Thanks Luke

thistle
10-16-2005, 08:32 AM
Using washing soda and 12v dc to clean rust you dont need any thing fancy-just a non conductive container-plastic drum works, and scraps of steel as an electrode,dont need graphite.

you could in theory use a steel drum as part of the system- dont let the part touch the side though.

I did a similar thing to clean the inside of a machine base, blocked and sealed openings,filed with water and washing soda,cut scraps of plastic to prevent the electode from coming into contact with the
machine ,hooked up the power to the electrode and machine base(now container )
and cleaned away.

why make thing s complicated?

HTRN
10-16-2005, 09:30 AM
Whatever you do, try to have as much electrode area as the part you're trying to derust - no sense trying to bottleneck the process.

Link (http://thisoldshed.tripod.com/electrolysis.htm)


HTRN

------------------
This Old Shed (http://thisoldshed.tripod.com)

Orrin
10-16-2005, 09:53 AM
The size of the waste electrode (graphite) depends on your power supply. The larger the electrode, the more current it will draw.

The size is not critical. I usually use something about the size of an automobile license plate.

I think Iseminger's write-up suggests a number of sources of graphite. Scraps of arc-furnace electrode, aluminum pot line electrodes, etc. are carbon. Carbon and graphite are electrically similar.

Like someone said, graphite is not essential. It has its advantages, though. You can read the pros and cons in Iseminger's write-up.

http://users.moscow.com/oiseming/rustdemo/rustdemo.htm

Orrin

reggie_obe
10-17-2005, 07:19 AM
Try an EDM shop for scrap graphite eletrodes. Or Ebay for scrap graphite.

webbch
10-17-2005, 09:45 AM
Supposedly, the graphite will not dirty up your solution so much. I always have to get out the wire wheel and clean off my (steel) waste electrode every now and then. It leaves quite a mess in the solution.

I would welcome a cleaner solution. I, too have been keeping my eye out for a chunk of graphite to use, to see if it is much different.

Chad

[This message has been edited by webbch (edited 10-17-2005).]