good morning....
I have seen comments about Linux on
the forum and would like to learn more
about what it takes to get set up.
I am not very good with computers,
I use mine for cad-cam and the internet
I have win98SE. I have problems all the time
and have had very little luck getting
them sorted out. In the past 4yrs I have replaced my system three times to start over,and within a few weeks the problems start all over....
The people who sold and set up the system
say it is my internet provider that is the problem and of course the internet people say its in my system.
Friends who are more computer literate
than I, tell me it is windows 98 that is the problem and I will just have to get used to it.
The computer has made it possible to do things I never could do without it but I am
getting old before my time with all the aggravation.
If my car ran as good as my computer I would
have to get a horse or a bicycle to go any
place!
Is Linux the answer to my prayers?
gramps http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif

Oso
11-01-2002, 10:22 AM
Well, I run win98 on 3 computers, and have very little if any trouble. It isn't as if it won't work.

When I hear that a person has had your kind of trouble, I start to think of hardware issues. Flaky memory, etc. Some off-brand computers or accessory combinations cannot be made to reliably work with windows at all, but these are very few.

The computer folks at work wanted to destroy 5 years of records and on going work including all my backups due to a "really nasty virus on my machine".

I nearly had to threaten them with weapons, but they did discover a flaky memory module...............all has been well since.

Some folks persist in doing things that are bad, like hitting the switch instead of shutting down normally. That will mess up windows, and maybe other OS as well. I will assume you don't do that sort of thing.