PDA

View Full Version : Engraving?

paulgrandy
12-01-2005, 06:42 AM
Anybody into engraving? I'm thinking about doing some engraving on soft metal, alum, copper, etc. I'm a pretty good artist so I figure I could get one of those electric etching tools, predraw something with a pencil, and then just copy with the etcher. But I figure it would look better if I got one of those engraving tools that have a little table and the arm to just copy something. That way the depth of the etch would be consistent. I've seen some that are pretty cheap on eBay. Any input would be helpful. I'm not looking to go into business so I don't want to sink a lot of $$$ into this project.

IOWOLF
12-01-2005, 07:11 AM
I think you are looking for a Pantograph,what are the size ranges?

------------------
The tame Wolf !

paulgrandy
12-01-2005, 07:25 AM
OK, I looked around the web at pantograph machines. But the cheapest I found was around $1K that would do what I wanted. I'm thinking that by now someone would have invented one that you could attach those cheap engraving pens to. Sort of like those stands that you bolt an angle grinder to and turn it into a chop saw. I'd be engraving on metal blocks about 1"X 2"X 3".

Ross
12-01-2005, 09:09 AM
I am not an engraver but i do frequent a knife forum that has some engravers on it here is a link to that: http://www.knifenetwork.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=46

If you search the forum i know there has been threads on what to buy for startup and how to get started.

Here is another link i just found didnt read through it but seemed like a lot of info: http://engravingarts.com/infopage.html

Hope it helps I have seen a lot of beautifull engraving on knives and it amazes me what can be done since i am not too artistic.

Ross

mjydrafter
12-01-2005, 09:29 AM