PDA

View Full Version : Coolant Question

MickeyD
12-18-2005, 10:59 PM
I picked up a Jet 7x12 bandsaw (big improvement over the 4x6 that I have been using for the last six years) this weekend and have a coolant question. I am placing an Enco order this week and am looking for a general purpose coolant that I can use in the saw and on the Bridgeport mill that will not skunk out too fast. I work with a mix of mild steel and aluminum mostly, but it is not uncommon to play with a little stainless. Any help would be appreciated.

ERBenoit
12-19-2005, 11:11 AM
The "skunking" of coolant is mostly attributed to tramp oils. If you can keep the tramp oils out, (usually done with a skimmer), the "skunking" may not be as bad, or as frequent. There are coolants that have some resistance to "skunking", as well as additives you can add to coolant prevent the same.

Coolant selection can be broken down into use categories, sawing, grinding, and milling/turning, as well as specific application depending upon metals used with.

Each one being formulated for a specific criteria of use.

I use Valenite VNT 700. I only use it in a mill though, no sawing.

Hope this helps some, BTW, no expert in coolant.

Robert Duncan
12-19-2005, 10:20 PM
I have been using ATF (cheap stuff, like $7/gal) with just a touch of Marvel Mystery oil added, maybe 6oz. Has been fine in my 7x12 for two years now.

lenord
12-20-2005, 02:03 AM
I use Koolmist #78 in the mill, drill press and bandsaw. I also mix it rather strong.
No odor in the coolant tanks!
It will rust bare metal overnight however if you let it sit.
I also use the way oil on the bare metals in the shop sparingly.
Enco number is 505-2074 from the last invoice.

FWIW
Lenord

rsr911
12-20-2005, 02:19 AM
Robert,

You're using straight oil? What do you do about the inevitable coolant/oil on the floor?