PDA

View Full Version : Opinion of a Clausing Vetical Miller 8520

RockvilleRon
12-31-2005, 05:40 PM
I am a newbie looking at buying a 115V SINGLE PHASE CLAUSING VERTICAL MILLER. Any thoughts on value or general opinion as to utility of this mill for a home machinist? It is classified as a "knee mill" desirable or not desirable? Told you I was a newbie.. Thanks for any time spent commenting. My other current choice is a new Sieg X3 mill with powerfeed etc. Thoughts???

mike petree
12-31-2005, 06:45 PM
Hi Ron,
A friend of mine had a Clausing mill and he was very pleased with it. They are not as rigid as a Bridgeport but are nicely made and
a pleasure to operate. He built some very nice 1.5" scale locos with it. I think most came with a #2 morse spindle taper. I'm pretty sure that #2 collets are still available. He sold his for 1200.00 with a vise and some tooling.
p.s. the knee is a very desirable feature.

[This message has been edited by mike petree (edited 12-31-2005).]

sauer38h
12-31-2005, 07:17 PM
The Clausing 8520 uses 2 Morse collets, the 8525 uses 7 Brown & Sharpe. Both are available.

I'd buy the Clausing if it's all there and not totally clapped out. They were usually home shop or amateur machines. Most spent their lives in garages or basements, so some have suffered greviously from rust.

At auction I've seen these sell for anything from $750 to $1700.

SGW
12-31-2005, 07:26 PM
Search the archives; those mills have been discussed before.

For its size, it's a really nice milling machine -- assuming it's not worn out. Morse #2 collets, or B&S #7 collets, are still available, and you need only 3 or 4, if they don't come with the milling machine. 3/16", 3/8", and 1/2" will hold nearly all end mills. Those collets have a maximum size of 1/2", but for the size and limits of the machine, that isn't really a drawback.

A "knee milll" is good because you can adjust the spindle-to-table distance easily, without upsetting alignment.