PDA

View Full Version : Programmable Calculators

lynnl
12-31-2005, 11:17 AM
I've been perusing G. Lautard's recipe for incremental ball turning, and have convinced myself that I need (read 'want') a programmable calculator.

But.. having never used one I'm in total darkness as to which one or what features I'd like.

I majored in math, but alas, I'm afraid my math skills have atropied to about the 9th grade level now. But with some brief brushing up I can usually solve whatever problem arises.

Does anyone here have any recommendation/warnings about the calculators now available?

Dawai
12-31-2005, 11:44 AM
Yeah, a small laptop is nearly as cheap.. and you can hook it to things. I saw one here the other day for $399 with $100 rebate.

A buddy bought a Neato $50 calculator, it can calculate offsets, yards concrete needed, studs per wall distance, etc.. It is called "contractors" version.

I just loaded Mach3 onto my laptop for the plasma cutter project.. gee they changed the screens again.. more simpler..
AND< Adrian's site has the cheapass dro software on it. It will read a chinese scale or a encoder.

mklotz
12-31-2005, 11:46 AM
The BALLCUT program (free) on my page will do the calculations for you.
Moreover, unlike most programmable calculators, it will generate a file of the
output data which you can print and carry to the shop for reference.

Note that there are other programs on the page for employing the same
incremental technique to cut other shapes with cylindrical symmetry, e.g.,
ogives. With PROFILE you can specify your own shape and it will generate an
incremental cutting table.

Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware - Tools for People Who Build Things
http://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

m squared
12-31-2005, 12:05 PM