PDA

View Full Version : OT-Dual monitors?



BillH
01-03-2006, 11:34 PM
Yeh, I'm loving it, and that pen tablet too, ahh photoshop makes it total bliss. Great for Cad programs as well, so this aint too off topic.
http://home.comcast.net/~billh308/WorkStation.jpg

Millman
01-03-2006, 11:38 PM
For some reason, I keep looking at the LEFT one!!???

------------------
Dave da Slave

BillH
01-03-2006, 11:42 PM
I'd post a better picture of her but last time I did that some had to spoil it for the rest.
Ah why do you think im minoring in photography? http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif She was in one of my photography classes, will be in one next semester as well, not that it matters, she is married.

snowman
01-03-2006, 11:44 PM
got em at work

i work in an accounting office, so i spend a lot of time in professional accounting software...moving numbers back and forth between scanned documents and software and such.

makes life sooo much easier

it's even better with dual 19" LCDs!!

Millman
01-03-2006, 11:51 PM
Speaking of monitors; and women; what's a good deal on a flat panel monitor for my wife's computer, maybe 17 or 19" I see alot of ads but don't know that much about computing. Thanks for any opinions!

------------------
Dave da Slave

BillH
01-03-2006, 11:58 PM
Millman, read the tech pages like Toms Hardware. Theres things like color reproduction, refresh speed, aspect ratio, contrast, brightness, etc. Well I guess if you dont play games and not an advanced photographer most of those things wont matter much to you. Not sure of any good deals at moment, my teacher gave me this crt for free today, well I better check that with him tommorow.

Dawai
01-04-2006, 12:20 AM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8745580884

I just got a copy of this.. Linux is clearer than Windows, not sure why?

I bought a Sony LCD, $599 w/100 rebate.. I went in and looked at a rack of them, the most clear was what I wanted.

I'd like a tablet.. Looking at them now.. The next visual basic interface for my mill?

BillH
01-04-2006, 12:33 AM
Dave, my Wacom tablet is pressure and angle sensitive, Hmm, you could figure out something cool to use with those functions. In photoshop I use them to control opacity and brush size.

CCWKen
01-04-2006, 01:04 AM
I got a 19" Sony LCD model SDM-HS73 last year for under $300 (package deal and rebates). One thing for sure, I could never go back to CRT.

How do you connect two displays? Another video card? And how are the windows distributed?

Gawd, I must be getting old. She doesn't look any older than my 15yo grand daughter. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by CCWKen (edited 01-04-2006).]

Doc Nickel
01-04-2006, 03:07 AM
Most video cards these days have the capability to run two monitors, built in. Typically they have both an analog and a digital video out, so you can use either screen, and if you want, BOTH screens.

I have an older nVidia card and I've been running dual monitors for a couple of years now. It's quite handy, I can surf in one window and Photoshop or do E-mail or whatever in the other window. Or open a browser and use it as reference while typing up a reply in another window, or whatever.

I started out with two 17" CRTs, and eventually switched to the current setup, which is an old, burned-in (but free) 20" CRT and a new 19" Dell LCD. As soon as I catch the Dell sales and coupons just right, I'll be replacing the CRT with a 24" widescreen LCD.

Since I do some photography and graphics work, the extra "real estate" in Paintshop or Photoshop (I have both) comes in very handy.

With the 24", though, I may ditch the 19" and drop down to a 17", so I can compare things like webpage layouts on a more conventional-sized screen. I start making graphics and photos to fit the widescreen, and everyone'll have to scroll sideways to see my websites. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

They work basically like one big monitor. The mouse cursor scrolls between the two seamlessly, as if it's all one window. Same for the keyboard- it works in whichever is the 'active' window; I've regualarly had two browsers or mail aps open and typed up two or more documents almost simultaneously. It can be pretty handy.

I usually dual-browse as well; Netscape in one window, and Firefox in the other. Two sets of (different) bookmarks, makes reading my webcomics and blog sites at night quick and easy. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

Doc.

BillH
01-04-2006, 09:47 AM
Yep, what Doc said, and I havent even tried microsoft FLight simulator 2004 yet with it. Imagine, having your radio stack, GPS, and anything else you can think of on a seperate monitor.
Also, playing with 3d studio max, I have a pdf tutorial on the right screen, 3dsmax on my LCD, no alt tabbing out, pure bliss.

debequem
01-04-2006, 12:44 PM
We have them at work. Using them right now.

I only have one at home, but then again, it's a 30" LCD dispaly! I don't have physical desk space for a second monitor!

SHOPA$$
01-04-2006, 01:08 PM
WOW oh WOW!

COLOR! maybe my daughter is right I should upgrade my system alittle. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//rolleyes.gif

------------------
Today I will gladly share my experience and advice, for there no sweeter words than "I told you so."

Dawai
01-04-2006, 01:15 PM
Yeah, she favors my daughter too.. now 9..

Damn kids grow up faster than they did when I was young. Must be the growth hormones in the chicken?

Your Old Dog
01-04-2006, 05:02 PM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Doc Nickel:
As soon as I catch the Dell sales and coupons just right, I'll be replacing the CRT with a 24" widescreen LCD.


Doc.</font>

Doc, I running XPpro. I also have a high end graphics digital/analog (and 1394) card with 128mb memory. Is it simply a matter of pluging in the wider screen? I do photoshop and some video editing and am always cramped. I know I can use two screens but don't like the look of it in the den. Would rather run a wide screen. Also, my daughter is getting my 19" Sony LCD screen if I can upgrade as you suggest.


Our company just went to non-linear editing. We are using the Avid Adrennalin systems but the monitors are 19" Acer LCDs. As far as Im concerned they look as good as my Sony 19 LCD and it's nothing short of magnificent in my book. I think the supplier told me the employees could get them from him for something like $400.00 a copy.

BillH, I loanded my daughter my Wacom tablet and she won't return it !! She has a BS degree in Graphic Arts so I figure she'll put it to better advantage than me!

mochinist
01-04-2006, 05:11 PM
How do you switch from one screen to the other, do you just drag a window from one screen to the other or what?

BillH
01-04-2006, 05:20 PM
Mochinist,
You extend the desktop onto the other monitor, it can be any size monitor. Right click on your desktop, go to properties, settings,etc. You will see the options clearly there for a 2nd monitor. It will let you choose which monitor to be the primary monitor.
YOD, if your video card has dual video out, mine has VGA and the digital connector on the back, have an adapter on the digital out to make it a 2nd vga, it came with my card.
My teacher uses the wacom tablet and I cannot believe that he does not use the pressure sensitive functions of it!! I've been playing with it and well, its like a Mill with a DRO, and a mill without DRO. dual monitors are bliss
I loaded up FS2004, I had my radio stack and GPS on the 2nd monitor, pretty cool.
My video card is an old Nvidia Geforce 4 ti4200, im sure you can find em on ebay for 5 to 10$ if you need dual video out. Well any geforce 4 as long as its not an MX should be good as well as the 9600 Radeons on up I think. Double check to be sure.

mochinist
01-04-2006, 05:29 PM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by BillH:
Mochinist,
You extend the desktop onto the other monitor, it can be any size monitor. Right click on your desktop, go to properties, settings,etc. You will see the options clearly there for a 2nd monitor. It will let you choose which monitor to be the primary monitor.
</font>Interesting, I may have to do that, I always have so many damn windows open with different programs, that would be really handy.

P.S. Feel free to email me the racier photos of the babe up above. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//wink.gif

BillH
01-04-2006, 05:39 PM
I hope you got high speed Mochinist, I reduced the size and dpi but it will still take some time

mochinist
01-04-2006, 05:52 PM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by BillH:
I hope you got high speed Mochinist, I reduced the size and dpi but it will still take some time</font>

Yeah I have high speed, I will let you know when I get it. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif