PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum backplate for chuck?

brunneng
11-24-2002, 07:42 PM
A while back to got some advise here on making a cast iron backplate for a bison collet chuck. I've been working on making ne from a piece 1" cast iron but my small lathe just doesn't seem to have enough mass to hold everything rigid enough to get a smooth finish. I've been setting my speeds according to The Handbook.

Can aluminum be used for an effective backplate in this case? Since all work will be held in collets, the largest dia that will worked is a 1-1/16". So I'm thinking that a 1" thick piece of aluminum will work and I know I can get a smooth cut on that.

Thanks
Kevin

Dick Payne
11-24-2002, 08:28 PM
I am a beginner but I would not trust aluminum for threaded holes to hold even a collet chuck. If you bolt all the way through and use a steel nut and bolt I think it would be OK. I make 1" thick aluminum face plate fixtures for mounting of small jobs that I want to use over and over.
You don't need a great finish on a back plate in my opinion.
How rough are you talking about?
Kevin:
I use a chineese brazed C2 carbide tool bit on a Smithy 1220 3in1 lathe and get good results. I do not extend the tool bit very far from the tool holder. I usually run it slow to get maximum torque for back plates.
I take small cuts and it takes a long time to cut a large plate down to size.

What kind and size of lathe do you have that won't give you a good finish on cast iron?

------------------
Dick

docsteve66
11-24-2002, 08:52 PM
brunneng: you probaly know this already, but cast iron has a "coating". You will have to get that thick skin cut away. the coating material is abrasive. after you get underthe scale (coating) I 'd try a HSS tool. I like to work cast iron (the good stuff, intended to be worked).
Steve

Thrud
11-24-2002, 10:30 PM
Kevin