PDA

View Full Version : Drilling hardened loader bucket blade?

Bob Quale
12-18-2005, 08:35 PM
I need to drill the hardened blade on a loader bucket. I want to install a bolt-on wear edge, I tried my chicago latrobe bits but no go. What can I use? or is it even possible? I had a guy tell me to use a $30.00 bit from snap on, What ever that means? any way, any ideas? I have an acct with msc, so any thing they sell would be easiest for me.

Thanks Bob

BillH
12-18-2005, 08:36 PM
Try solid Carbide yet?

Bob Quale
12-18-2005, 08:43 PM
I tried a carbide bit for masonary, I have had good luck with these in the past, it did go about half way through and then started to side track. I figured I was on the right track. I don't mind spending money on a good bit, but I would like to buy the right bit the first time, if possible.

Bob

Rustybolt
12-18-2005, 09:03 PM
A cole drill with a resharpened masonary bit. I was going to sell mine, but apparently it is on permanent loan to brother in law to drill truck frames.

alcova
12-18-2005, 09:04 PM
I have had some luck spot heating with a torch until a reddish glow, then drill hard and fast...5/8" hole in hard plate

Walt

CCWKen
12-18-2005, 09:10 PM
The carbide bits should do it. Did you regrind the masonry bit?

Oh yeah, the Cole drills are handy. I used mine to drill all the holes in the Kenbota frame. I almost sold mine but they come in too handy. I only paid $5 for mine.

LOL...Rustybolt. That's why I don't lend out tools. You can use all you want HERE, but they don't leave.

Bob Quale
12-18-2005, 09:22 PM
OK,

What is a core drill? is it the machine or the bit? and how should I re-sharpen the masonary bit?

I think the carbide bit may be the way to go. Does the carbide bit look like a regular high speed bit, just carbide, or some thing else? would you recomend indexable?

Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks Bob

moldmonkey
12-18-2005, 09:50 PM
http://www1.mscdirect.com/CGI/NNPDFF?PMPAGE=99&PMITEM=72454085