PDA

View Full Version : I had another forehead-slapping moment

Wirecutter
01-27-2006, 12:21 PM
Folks were talking in a previous thread about what kind of exotic materials they'd worked with. I've only ever done Al, brass, tool steel, stainless, and copper - nothing really fancy at all. Never did cold-rolled steel before in either the mills or lathe, but an order for some arrived yesterday.

Geez Louise that stuff is easy to work! http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif I can't believe I've never worked with it on the machines before. And it's easy to weld, too.

So this leads me to ask: Anyone have a favorite "all around" raw material for the shop? Sure, I know that different materials have their places, but do you have a favorite?

I know I sound like I've just discovered that I have opposable thumbs, but I'm curious whether others have had similar experiences with other materials. Thanks.

Evan
01-27-2006, 12:30 PM
At the risk of stating the already obvious, aluminum.

I should amend this to say that I do a lot of plastics too. Teflon, ABS, PVC, HDPE, Nylon in various forms including natural, nylatron and graphite filled as well as a few others.

[This message has been edited by Evan (edited 01-27-2006).]

3 Phase Lightbulb
01-27-2006, 12:34 PM
Mine is already obvious too, Gatorade.

jkilroy
01-27-2006, 01:08 PM
Easily I have to favor 12L14 over just about any other material. Close second is 360 brass.

BobWarfield
01-27-2006, 01:20 PM
12L14 absolutely!

Gives a great finish, cuts very nicely, if you start with it, you will mistakenly assume this stuff is easy.

Stainless is the worst I've worked with so far with aluminum in between. The stainless wasn't bad, it just wasn't effortless the way the 12L14 was.

I'll probably try some brass next.

tattoomike68
01-27-2006, 01:21 PM
all around raw material for the shop?

as far as shafting goes...