PDA

View Full Version : Bearing Pockets

Hawkeye
02-24-2006, 01:58 PM
Howdy All!!
I'm new here but I've been lurking for a while.

I need to bore a 1-3/8" bearing pocket 3/8" deep in 1/2" AL plate.

What is the right way to do this, I have a Small Milling Machine. I don't have cnc capability and the parts are to long for a rotary table ( which I don't have ether).

I have done this using a hole saw, then mill away the inside of the hole.

I'm new to Machining so any help is appreciated.

Sandy H
02-24-2006, 02:25 PM
Unless I am misunderstanding the question, you'd use a boring head. I used to own a mill/drill and it was fine with the boring head. I didn't like the import boring bars, though. I'd look for something a little more robust on sale if I could do that part again.

I now have an old Bport and a year or so ago used a boring head with those same junk boring bars to do a set of 'connecting rods' for a friend's press brake. They were about 2" dia x 1" deep in mild steel.

I'd say you rough the hole out and then go after it that way. There may even be boring bars that are made to cut through without roughing out, but I've never really ever noticed.

Sandy.

Alistair Hosie
02-24-2006, 04:02 PM
With aluminium you could use a router with a tungsten bit and a home made trammell I did this opn my router table when cutting out the hole for the router bits to come through.Alistair ps take your time and set it up all ok first

big-dipper
02-24-2006, 06:25 PM