X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • spinrow
    • Oct 2001

flat belt bearings Re: speed and lubricant

I have an old 14" lathe(patented 1890) with an external speed reduction transmission. I put on a 3450 rpm electric motor and have a max. spindle speed about 450 rpm. I found old grease in the spindle bearing access holes on the bearing caps.
    Before I used it I wanted to get recommendations regarding max. speed and type of lubricant to use? Should grease or oil be used for bearings? Thanks Paul
  • garyphansen
    • Aug 2004

If you found grease in the spindle you need to take the spindle out and clean all the grease of the spindle and the bearing. A plain bearing is disgned to ride on a film of oil. Others will tell you that you need to get specal machine oil but I will not. I have been using plain old SAE 20 for the last 27 years with out a problem. Oil use to be recomended for back gear lub but recently South Bend Lathes started recomending a teflon grease for the backgears (oil still works). Gary P. Hansen
    P.S. Add oil if needed everytime you use it and you will be a happy camper.
    In memory of Marine Engineer Paul Miller who gave his life for his country 7-19-2010 Helmand Province, Afghanistan. Freedom is not free, it is paid for with blood.

Comment

• menace
      • Sep 2005