PDA

View Full Version : Digital Tach for a Lathe



Shuswap Pat
03-06-2006, 09:28 PM
I am looking for a simple digital tach system for a lathe. I have added a VFD, and would like to know the spindle speed is. I need a range of 20 to 2000 RPM.
Any simple solution would be appreciated.

JRouche
03-06-2006, 10:00 PM
I recently bought one of the non-contact digital tachs. I can use it on everything that rotates, it has a high enough speed rating. I bought it off ebay and it is the same manufacture as this one. JRouche

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEIKO-DIGITAL-NON-CONTACT-LASER-PHOTO-TACHOMETER-AUTO_W0QQitemZ7597295675QQcategoryZ4660QQtcZphotoQ QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Dr. Rob
03-07-2006, 01:30 AM
I answered this the other day, but the post disappeared. Said something about a bicycle computer. Cheap, multi-function, digital.

John Williams
03-07-2006, 07:06 AM
Little machine shop has a nice one that also calculates SFM in adition to rpm. Only $99 too.

Leigh
03-07-2006, 07:53 AM
<deleted>
------------------
Leigh W3NLB

[This message has been edited by Leigh (edited 03-07-2006).]

torker
03-07-2006, 08:12 AM
Do any of you guys know if those digital tachs that are used for radio controlled airplane engines would work for machinery? I used to have one when I was fooling with R/C stuff.
I "believe" it worked only on propellers but Im not sure.
Thanks!
Russ

bob_s
03-07-2006, 03:36 PM
<<Do any of you guys know if those digital tachs that are used for radio controlled airplane engines would work for machinery?>>

High speed equipment like routers. Don't the O49 Super Bees turn something like 29000 RPM?

nheng
03-07-2006, 04:58 PM
Here's an old post I made regarding using a bike computer. It's pretty handy and I've used it in many places but the RPM, at least with this bike computer, tops out around 900 - 1000 rpm.

JRouche, that unit looks like a decent deal. Thanks for the link.

Den

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//Forum1/HTML/007511.html

[This message has been edited by nheng (edited 03-07-2006).]

Evan
03-07-2006, 06:16 PM
It depends on your budget. Here is a professional unit but it costs.

http://www.contractor-books.com/EX/461950.htm

Shuswap Pat
03-08-2006, 12:03 AM
Has anyone built or used the 'Tach Jr'?

Pat