PDA

View Full Version : OT - Fact or Fiction

lynnl
03-16-2006, 11:18 AM
In a spy novel I'm reading the author (Robert Littell) develops what strikes me as a questionable scenario.

One of the characters wishing to commit suicide only has a very small caliber (unspecified) handgun available. So she fills her mouth with water, inserts the muzzle, pulls trigger, and head explodes from (I presume) the hydraulic pressure.

Would seem to me that her lips would simply be forced open, thereby spewing water out and relieving the pressure, and the bullet would simply do whatever damage it could.

...OR, is the idea that it would create a directional shock wave toward the back, so fast that the damage is done before the lips can open.

Any thoughts on this?

(as you might imagine, I'm reluctant to test it out. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif))

Wirecutter
03-16-2006, 11:54 AM
I'm no expert, nor do I play one on TV, but...

Seems to me that if a "small caliber" handgun doesn't have enough power to kill with a well-placed point-blank headshot, it certainly wouldn't have enough ass to blow up someone's head.

Are there many handguns out there, aside from toys, that have "cartridges" (the shell, like a 38, a 9mm, etc) smaller than a 22 cal? Don't certain organized crime elements prefer point blank .22 head shots for executions? Or is this all TV-generated folklore?

If I wanted my head to explode, I'd try to read the licensing agreements to all the software on my computer. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

Evan
03-16-2006, 12:08 PM
I suppose if someone is willing to try it we probably won't get a report on the effectiveness.

Rex
03-16-2006, 12:12 PM
Robert Kennedy was killed with a single .22 short to the back of the head

lynnl
03-16-2006, 12:14 PM
Yeah, that's my take too, that the .22 is the weapon of choice for executions. That's what we used for killing hogs when I was a kid.