PDA

View Full Version : vibration on bridgeport



williamy
07-06-2002, 08:24 PM
Just got my bridgeport up and runing,built A rotery phase converter,I am getting some vibration in the lower speeds,in both high and low range,any one had a problem like this besides me,,,,,,thanks Bill

Stepside
07-07-2002, 07:13 AM
Some things to check are. 1) are the belts old and stiff? 2) is everything lubed correctly? 3) Condition of the sheaves in the lower ranges. 4) If it is a vari-speed, was it run at one speed for a long long time creating some wear grooves in the sheaves? 5) Is there vibration with some or all cutting set-up? such as boring head, drill chuck, flycutter.
Check thes out and let us know what you have discovered.

williamy
07-08-2002, 12:46 PM
Found problem,bad motor bearing,was lucky A friend had A backup,mounted it,machine runs great.Does any one have any idea on how hard it is to replace them?This is not covered in the manual.Again thanks for your time and help.,,,,,,,